Michigan Asparagus Advisory Board

The Michigan Asparagus Advisory Board (MAAB) promotes the production and consumption of Michigan Asparagus nationwide. The organization is dedicated to sharing the virtues of asparagus, while also assisting with agricultural research and the development of asparagus farming. The MAAB is funded by Michigan Asparagus growers.  

Most recent survey of Michigan Asparagus Acreage available here

Executive director

John Bakker  
(P) 517-669-4250
(P) 231-873-2740 (Hart Office) 
(C) 231-923-6725
(F) 517-669-4251
(E) [email protected]

PO Box 550 
12800 Escanaba Drive, Suite A
DeWitt, Michigan 48820 

Board members


Sarah Greiner, Secretary/Treasurer
Oceana County 

Eric Herrygers
Oceana County 

Dwight Fuehring, Vice Chairman
Oceana County

At large

Chairman (position currently vacant)
Oceana County

Nicholas  Oomen
Oceana County

Tom Oomen
Oceana County 


Southwest Michigan area

Kyle Weber
Berrien County 

Vic Shank
Cass County 

Tracey Butler
Oceana County 


Jamie Clover-Adams, director MDARD
(P) 517-373-1052
(F) 517-335-1423

Gordon Wenk, chief deputy director, MDARD
(P) 517-355-3402

Heather Throne, representative, MDARD
(P) 517-712-0841

PO Box 30017
Ottawa Building
Lansing, Michigan 48909